View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:04 pm

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 BSF seasonality- share earliest and latest adult sightings 
Site Admin

Post Deland Florida, US - BSF sightings April 15 - Dec. 14, 2013
Today I saw a few dozen BSF adults emerging from pupation. The pupae were in containers I use for storing them safely while they develop. I also observed a few egg clusters that would have been laid in the past day or two. The weather was sunny and warm earlier this week with highs around 80ºF/27ºC.

This is my first year rearing BSF in central Florida, and I'm pleasantly surprised to see breeding this late in the year. This is especially true since I didn't see my first adult until April 15th this year. I've seen BSF adults in Georgia in early April, so I assume that on average the season will begin here in late March.

Mike, you're better at organizing data than I am so please let me know if you have a better format for this idea. :ugeek:

*I'm not an entomologist, and much of what I write about BSF is an educated guess.

Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:56 pm
Profile Send private message WWW
Global Moderator

Post Re: BSF seasonality- share earliest and latest adult sightin
The format you suggested should be fine. I can update the map and individual threads as required.

Remember that for your initial location submission please start a new topic/thread in this section (though not in this topic/thread) with your country/state/city etc. in the title or you may use the following email link blacksoldierflymappingproject@gmail.com.

I Believe The Black Soldier Fly Has The Potential To Be A Beneficial Insect Second Only To Pollinating Bees

Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:11 pm
Site Admin

No problem BW. :D If this seems like it's too redundant or confusing I'll delete the topic.