View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:15 am

Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Rearing pupa to adult 

Post Rearing pupa to adult
hi all, newbie here. I'm currently trying to grow BSF pupa to adult (the pupa were bought) and wondering if you can help. This will be my third attempt, so a bit of history
attempt 1: place the pupa in a styrofoam box filled with dry soil and keep it in a netted cage (full sun). Nothing happen after weeks/months, I suspect this is due to the cold weather (just coming off winter at that time, still a bit cold)

attempt 2: place the pupa in used biscuit tin filled with dry matter such as dead leaves, branches etc and kept at greenhouse to keep it warm, I moved it to full sun every morning and keep it shaded at night (still outside), also sprayed it with water every day just to keep it moist. Again, this is no go. after weeks, I tip it over and they all (presumably) dead, left with dried out pupa (paper thin)

attempt 3: so this is where I am now and determined to get this right now. Weather is great, it's not summer, but close and even in the early morning it's not cold at all, during the day it's hot. Range between 16 to 30 deg C. I used the tin can but filled with dry soil. the can is about 6.5cm high and I spray every now and again with water to keep it moist. I kept it in the greenhouse but to keep it from getting too hot, I kept it in the shaded area, so it should be hot/warm but not burning hot + tray of water to keep it humid. So is this a good set-up? Yesterday (day 1) they got out of the tin can and wander around, luckily I noticed it so I just put them back. Haven't noticed anything yet today (day 2). hopefully they're happy burrowing?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Is the can too shallow? I mix the soil with small pebbles and mulch to keep it loose and not too compact.

Wed Nov 02, 2016 9:11 pm
Profile Send private message
Global Moderator

Post Re: Rearing pupa to adult